Support Worker / Personal Assistant

  • Job Reference: 00007216-1
  • Date Posted: 20 May 2020
  • Recruiter: CV-Library
  • Location: Putney, London
  • Salary: £25,000
  • Sector: Healthcare & Medical, Covid-19
  • Job Type: Permanent

Job Description

Title: Live-in SEN Buddy / Personal Assistant
Location: Putney, SW15
Wage / Salary: £25,000 gross per annum, lovely accommodation and car. Use of gym & swimming facilities on site.
Driver required? Essential
Use of a car? Yes, on duty & personal use, manual
Essential: SEN experience with a young person/adult, non-smoker and swimmer. Good knowledge of London
Start Date: ASAP
Days: Monday to Friday (includes 4 sleeping nights) Average 35 hours per week
Accommodation: Sharing a gorgeous three-bedroom, three-bathroom apartment in the heart of Wandsworth with the two young men. You will have your own good-sized bedroom with en-suite. You will have full use of communal areas. (Friday evening & weekends you will have the flat to yourself). Food allowance included during the working week.
Family/Client Pets: Not applicable

About this client/child:
A fantastic opportunity to support a wonderful young man with additional needs, in his own private independent living setting in Putney. Paul is a loving, sociable and active 22-year-old young man. He enjoys swimming, going to the theatre, exploring London, trampolining and watching talent shows such as Britain’s Got Talent. He has sparked up a great friendship with a peer at college called Elliott who has Downs’s syndrome and he stays 1 or 2 nights per week. Paul has a genetic condition called Wolf-Hirschorn syndrome, which presents with a learning disability. He is physically very able but has some fine motor skill difficulties. He has no awareness of danger and will approach strangers, so always needs to be supervised when out in the community.

Overview of role:
This is a great opportunity for a confident SEN Buddy / PA to help facilitate Paul’s post-college life; teaching him life skills and promoting his independence and supporting him in activities. Paul will require prompts and need reminding of his daily routine. Paul generally wakes up around 6.30am and will require some support with his morning (and evening) routine, including some personal care. During the day Paul and Elliott are taken out by a Personal Assistant who will be supporting them with daily activities. Whilst the young men are away from the flat this time will be spent making sure activities/plans are sorted for their return, keeping the flat clean & tidy and free time to be spent how you wish. Due to Covid-19 some activities are curtailed.

Paul will spend the weekend at his parent’s family home and come back to the flat Monday morning. The SEN Buddy/PA will transport Paul to Suffolk every other Friday. You have sole use of the flat whilst they are away. At times you will be expected to take Paul to visit Suffolk (and stay) during the week – it is seaside location so a great place to visit with lots to do.

Who this job would suit:
This job will suit someone with a good knowledge of London and is confident organising fun activities. Personality-wise we are looking for someone who is assertive, sociable, happy to get involved, entertaining whilst also being good at using his or her own initiative. You should have reasonable cooking skills; this is an activity Paul would really enjoy.

What’s great about this job:
An excellent role, assisting and facilitating a fantastic young man– this role comes highly recommended by a previous SEN Buddy/PA that Snap placed working with Paul 9 years ago!

Client/Family met by Snap?
Yes. Well known to Snap